Judge Not: A Story of Fake Titties and Stereotypes

In yoga we try to let go of our attachment to the way we think things ought to be. To do that we need to let go of judgement, and be a little more present. We need to release expectations and wait to decide until we’ve had a full serving.

Usually, our judgement of things is mostly what’s harmful. We might often miss out on an opportunity to meet somebody cool or experience something amazing. Well, last weekend at Rasa Lila, I totally busted myself getting judgy and magically got past it and then experienced one of the best yoga classes that I have had the delight to take. Judgement is a burden that I really don’t feel like carrying. Baby steps, right?

So, I throw my mat down and I’m just looking around at the scene and all the people, probably judging them a little (oops, damn), and the teacher rolls in and I’m a little surprised. Why? What does a yoga teacher look like, anyway? Well, I guess I was surprised because Tymi Howard looks real fancy.

Her hair is did. She’s wearing obvious make-up. She’s got a frilly lulu skirt on. She’s got fancy boobies. Why all the stigma about the implants? Ms. Howard also happens to be a bad ass and a darn good yoga instructor. She put a whoopin’ on me, and she did it with charm. She’s so damn cute you couldn’t even be mad at her when she ran you through the hardest abdominal workout you have ever done. In her “Bold, Beautiful and Bad Assana Bhakti Flow” class I not only learned some killer moves that I can’t wait to share with my students, but I also learned how to be a little bit less of an asshole. Thanks again yoga for humbling the crap out of me. That’s what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

