Holbox Island, Quintana Roo, Mexico

I got my first passport stamp and my first swim with the world’s largest fish all in the same weekend. Holbox means “black hole” in the Mayan language, which doesn’t seem very nice. The island is off the top right corner of the Yucantan peninsula, so it’s close, as the bird flies, to Florida. Being not birds, we instead had to fly commercial to Ft. Lauderdale, then to Cancun, where we spent an insane night at Coco Bongo. The next crispy morning found us speeding north in a van to the town of Chiquila, where we hired a boat to be ferried to Hotel Mawimbi(!). I believe this is the best way I’ve ever arrived anywhere.

Not much was cheap in Holbox. This $3 drop-in class or $25/month is probably the best deal we saw for anything on the little island.

But our busy schedule of chasing giant fish kept us from attending any organized classes. So we D.I.Y.’d. Here’s Rebecca doing a wide-legged Parivrtta Janu Sirsasana.

Grabbing onto the toes with the opposite hand is the hard part for most people. Here I’m explaining to my sister that if you place your hand behind your head instead, with your elbow pointing straight up, you can still get some of that good spine-twisting-stretching and chest opening effect.

We’ve covered a little yoga, and now for two of my other great passions: beer and cats. This one wandered into our room while I was making a delicious manmosa. More later…

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

