Dragonfly Pose

The other day before class one of my regulars stopped me in the studio lobby and asked me about this pose, which one of my subs had taught while I was gone (more on subs later). I had to admit I’d never been taught it myself, had never even attempted it. So today we have Katelyn doing a demo of How to Get Into Dragonfly Pose, and also a showing us a short flow we can use to set up our Dragonfly, to practice at home or to use in your class. Dragonfly (also known as Hummingbird) is more impressive-looking than it is difficult, so it’s definitely a good bang-for-your-buck pose if you want to show off. It’s a lot like Side Crow, but with one elbow supporting the foot of your bent leg, and the other supporting the hip of your extended leg, rather than floating. My lovely pardner’s going to show you how to do it in this video shot in my dirty apartment. Don’t make fun of her little lisp. She’s sensitive about it.

It’s not quite so easy as she makes it look . You’ve got to have some core and arm strength, obviously. What makes it hard for me is my lack of flexibility. Getting your foot onto the back of your arm will be limited by tight hips, ankles, and a can’t-do attitude, and making it stick there is limited by slippery sweat. This pose will probably never fly in a hot class.

Katelyn’s flow below includes a little twisting action and some hip and adductor stretching to help get you warmed up for the fly. By the way, tonight Gainesville Native and personal Top Ten fave John Vanderslice is playing in Ybor! So I picked “Trance Manual” from Pixel Revolt as our background music today. Here we go.

Sequence: Tadasana, Urdhva Hastasana, Uttanasana, Ardha Uttanasana, Chaturanga Dandasana, Urdvha Mukha Svansana, Adho Mukha Svansana, Crescent Warrior with twisties, Warrior III, Utthita Hasta Padangusthasana, Dragonfly, Standing Split, Crescent. Rinse. Repeat.

Hey, wouldn’t you like to subscribe to our YouTube channel? Do it here.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

